The Bone Forest

Publication Details

UK: Grafton Books, 1991; HB. ISBN: 0246138335
UK: Grafton Books, 1992; PB. ISBN: 0586212922
USA: Avon Books, 1992; PB. ISBN: 0380767813

Buy the e-book from or Buy the e-book from or

In the novella ‘The Bone Forest’ which forms the centrepiece of this outstanding collection, Holdstock goes back to the events preceding Mythago Wood. It is 1935, and two scientists, George Huxley and Edward Wynne-Jones, are attempting to map the wood and analyse the curious manifestations which they have christened ‘mythagos’. At the same time, Huxley’s obsession with his work threatens to alienate him from his family, and in particular his son Steven.

The collection contains the following short stories:

  • The Bone Forest
  • Thorn
  • The Shapechanger
  • The Boy who Jumped the Rapids
  • Time of the Tree
  • Magic Man
  • Scarrowfell
  • The Time Beyond Age

This slideshow requires JavaScript.